USD StandIns?

4369   15   3
52 posts
Hi all.
I am new to Solaris
I am importing a very large scene (a city, ton of geometry)
Is there a way in Solaris to create something similar to the Arnold StandIns and load USD meshes only at render time?

Could it even be possible to create a Arnold StandIn from a USDScene?

Thanks
7770 posts
There's several ways. Change the drawmode to bounding box, unload payloads, use 'purpose' to differentiate between proxy and render geometry.
44 posts
PaoloGiandoso

also regarding arnold and usd - you can bring ASS files straight to Solaris and you can render USD files directly from kick.
52 posts
jsmack
There's several ways. Change the drawmode to bounding box, unload payloads, use 'purpose' to differentiate between proxy and render geometry.

Hi @jsmack. Thanks for helping out!
If I use the configure node to set the purpose and drawmode it does change the way the geos are displayed but it still has to load the usd file at the beginning right?
What I am concerned about is the loading time of each usd file. Since I have a large city scene, each .usd file takes a long time to load.
So I was hoping for a way to not overload the viewport and only load stuff when I hit render like with ass files in maya.
But if I place the configure node after the file import node it still gets loaded regularly.

frostfx
also regarding arnold and usd - you can bring ASS files straight to Solaris and you can render USD files directly from kick.
Thanks @frostfx!
I do not know how to use Kick but being able to import ASS files into Solaris is surely great. Do they read as reference files?
7770 posts
PaoloGiandoso
If I use the configure node to set the purpose and drawmode it does change the way the geos are displayed but it still has to load the usd file at the beginning right?