[SOLVED] Can I choose which GPU is used for XPU rendering?

   1810   2   1
User Avatar
Member
250 posts
Joined: June 2016
Offline
Hello everyone, I hope you are all well!

Say I have a RTX 3060 and an RTX 4090 in my workstation, can I set Karma XPU to use only the RTX 4090? 🤔

Thanks
Edited by GCharb - Dec. 19, 2022 13:15:33
User Avatar
Member
160 posts
Joined: Feb. 2016
Offline
Yes, with environment variables [www.sidefx.com].
KARMA_XPU_DISABLE_DEVICE_0
Disable device 0 when rendering with Karma XPU.

KARMA_XPU_DISABLE_DEVICE_1
Disable device 1 when rendering with Karma XPU.
You need to test what Device number belongs to what card

If you only want to render with the GPU you can set
KARMA_XPU_DISABLE_EMBREE_DEVICE
Disable the Embree device when rendering with Karma XPU.

You can create a ..../houdini19.5/packages/KarmaSettings.json to drive these
As:
{
    "enable" : true,
    "env":
    [
        {"KARMA_XPU_DISABLE_DEVICE_0" : 1},
        {"KARMA_XPU_DISABLE_DEVICE_1" : 0},
        {"KARMA_XPU_DISABLE_EMBREE_DEVICE" : 1}
    ]
}
Edited by AslakKS - Dec. 19, 2022 12:56:14
User Avatar
Member
250 posts
Joined: June 2016
Offline
Great info, Aslak, you're the man!
  • Quick Links