Group Selection in HDA

2149   7   1
21 posts
Hi,

I am trying to build a HDA to orient and copy some geometry to a selection of faces. It works “somewhat” but I cannot get the group selection button to work.

I have no knowledge of python scripting, and the closes solutions I could find did not work out for me.

I would be thankful for a solution or some information what I should look up.

My five cents: Group selection in custom HDA´s should be easy. Perhaps it is

Thank you for considering.

Attachments:
Orient.hiplc (158.9 KB)
GroupSelectError.PNG (198.6 KB)

21 posts
Hi there,
Is more information needed? I would really like to implement that.
Greetings, Christian
679 posts
Hey Christian,

Im not in front of a Maschine right now. But you need to expose some of the other group node parameters, too. I cant recall exactly which one but add them till it works like group type and create ordered and so on.

Cheers
CYTE
8582 posts
you could expose "grouptype" as your action button expression is looking for it

but if you know that ou will always want to select primitives you can change your action button script to this
import soputils
kwargs['geometrytype'] = hou.geometryType.Primitives
kwargs['inputindex'] = 0
soputils.selectGroupParm(kwargs)

Attachments:
Orient_fix.hipnc (173.4 KB)

Tomas Slancik
FX Supervisor
Method Studios, NY
21 posts
That did the job. Thank you CYTE and tamte for helping me out. I will study this further as I think it´s usefull in building my tools.

Cheers
Schmauch
1010 posts
Hmmm... I've use that python script in my hda but on some assets (not all), it doesn't group what I select in the viewport. Instead, it groups a bunch of primitives everywhere on the model.

When I use the rubber toy and group its front-left arm, I get this group:

1533-1628 1674-1776 1885-1928
etc.
(the result doesn't look like what I had selected in the viewport. its all messed up)