shadow maps

4665   8   2
3 posts
I am new to Houdini and I am experimenting with the lighting. It seems quite complex, with many things quite apparent in other packages being present but buried quite deep.

At the moment I am experimenting with shadow maps. I have managed to get a shadow map written out for a test scene but I am unsure of some things.

1. What image format should I use for my shadow maps? Will any do or is there a special format? I have been using tif.

2. Please see my attached shadow map. Can anyone tell me how I can improve the quality with regards to the stepping in the shadow map? I have tried upping the shadow map res and increasing depth map samples but they are still present.

Thanks.

Attachments:
test_map.tif (1.2 MB)

4140 posts
1. Use ‘rat’ format, it's the format of choice for Houdini maps(just call it my_map_name.rat).

2. Image didn't come through here - possibly too large for posting? Remember that shadow maps indicate *distance from light* - they aren't necessarily supposed to be pretty. To get smooth results in the final render, increase the sampling to get a soft edge. Part of your problem is that you're likely writing out 8 bit tiffs - not enough information in those for what you're doing. ‘rat’ will address that.

Cheers,

J.C.
John Coldrick
3 posts
Thanks man, I remember reading about .rat…

My shadow map is still stepping, I thought this was why my shadow in my image had noise in it but I'm not sure. Is it right that ‘Z depth samples’ is only used by Renderman?

If rendering in mantra, what are the most important setting for high quality shadows if z depth samples is only for Rednerman?

Thanks for the tips.
Staff
2540 posts
If you are getting stepping with your shadow map then you can:

- Increase the Pixel Samples to 2 x 2
- tighten the Near and Far Clipping planes such that the values are just large enough to encompass your scene plus a few units.
- increase the resolution of the shadow map