How do i render something?

7078   17   4
32 posts
Hi Guys,

I'm brand NEW to Houdini and come from a Cinema 4D background. I downloaded the latest version of apprentice and I can't seem to see anything when I render my scene, It's just a BLACK window.

I have a sphere, a light pointing at it and a plane. I've tried the quck render button and adding a mantra module, but nothing. Could someone please help me out. All my render settings are default.
Regards,

Ben :)
52 posts
3DBuzz have a short “How do I…” video for setting up a basic render that may be useful - http://www.3dbuzz.com/vbforum/sv_video.php?v=1004 [3dbuzz.com]
32 posts
Any FREE advice?
Regards,

2199 posts
Can you post a hip file…
The trick is finding just the right hammer for every screw
32 posts
I have attached the file for you to check.

Attachments:
rendertest.hipnc (134.5 KB)

Regards,

52 posts
Your file works fine for me.

H9.5.134
Vista64
nvidia 8800gt

What are you specs?

If you hit “d” with the mouse over the mplay window to bring up the Display Options there might be some settings there that might have an affect, but not sure…
32 posts
Crap! I dunno what's going on. My Specs are 9.5134, Radeon X1600, Vista 32bit.

How long does that scene take to render on your machine?
Regards,

52 posts
Historically Radeon cards and Houdini have never got on. I'm not sure what the latest is though, but I believe people are having some joy. Search here (or odforce) for Catalyst - I'm sure there's a remedy somewhere for this??
32 posts
Damn that sucks! I have a notebook with an 8600gt card in it, i'll try and install apprentice on that. You've been more than helpful, Thanks.
Regards,

7717 posts
I'm having a bit trouble understanding the problem here. Where is this black window? In mplay?
32 posts
Yes in Mplay (it doesn't render anything at all)
Regards,

7717 posts
Try doing File > Save and save it to something like mypic.jpg and then try loading it up in another app. Does that work?
7717 posts