Houdini HD

9705   10   1
5 posts
Hi all, been looking about for a cheap, powerful and very usable app for my ever growing 3d needs I've been using max for the last 3 years (student) but getting sick of the price and well I don't like max that much nor maya on the topic either.

And a friend suggested this, and I'm going to have to agree from what I've seen Houdini is a brilliant app ^^, I'm looking into getting the Student copy for $99 but was some what uncertain about why it's so awesomely cheap? all the cool stuff locked out? but yeh I really love the look of it and am very tempted to buy a copy ^^ esp since Side effect support Linux which also comes to one other question; If I have a dual boot of windows/ linux would I be able to install to both of those or would it be considered to be more than one computer?

sry about the kinda hyper typing I've been drinking lots of coffee
575 posts
some parts are locked. like ifd rendering and stuff like that, but for testing and learning everything is there. the biggest limitation is that You are not allowed to use it for commercial work. thats why it is called starving artist edition. but it is a real great offer
856 posts
I've used max for several years and my eyes fell out when I started using XSI. Then I switched over to Houdini and it made my brain pop out through the empty sockets.

I got them all in again and I enjoy using Houdini very much.

It's a lot deeper than other apps and that makes it pretty hard and long to learn and to become productive. Sometimes you stumble over seemingly simple things that have incomprehensible answers (you wanna move a point along the normal? Why, it's simply P = P+N*scaling_factor!). Some people never get up after those falls and return to their old soft. So, growing a new userbase is hard and I think that's part of the reason why it's so cheap.