adding "mount points" for props to a procedual pol

12712   16   1
24 posts
Hi there,

I'm quite new to houdini… so please bear my stupid questions

I have an poly object which I model procedurally.
Let's say it's the base of a house.

Now I want to be able to add “props” in random amounts to it… but in certain locations. A good example would be various chimney-types or antenna's and satellite dishes, doors, windows, etc.

I need a sort of “mount point” for those that I want to keep on the geometry in certain specified locations. These should not change even if I subdivide the faces, polyextrude them, etc. They just move with the new geometry then in orientation and location.

Trying face-numbers sucks kinda. My other idea was getting the bounding-box Y-max to place stuff on top… but that doesn't fix the other location issues.

Can I somehow assign a point/vector/handle/whatever onto a face x, which stays there when the modelling process continues?
ideally with a transform-node or something?

greetz,
-elderic
7722 posts
Does using the Group SOP work (make sure you create a “primitive” group)? In most places where you use face (aka primitive) numbers, you can use this named group instead.
24 posts
edward
Does using the Group SOP work (make sure you create a “primitive” group)? In most places where you use face (aka primitive) numbers, you can use this named group instead.

actually I would have to try that

another idea I stumbled upon would be a rivet… this toll already seems to do what I want, the problem is: it operates on the wrong level (same level as geometry-node). I will try some stuff (including your suggestion and read some more docs. perhaps I come up with a solution.

my final goal is a fully procedual house with multiple random props… for assembling of a random procedual “city”.

well… back to the drawing board.
7722 posts
At the geometry level, there's also the Align SOP but I've never learned how that node works.
24 posts