Toon Character Torque Export Problem

42680   67   1
82 posts
I am trying to export the default toon character to Torque. I am brand new to Houdini, so don't know what I am doing most of the time. I have been through a lot of tutorials and still am having trouble.

I have the latest Houdini 10.0.430. I start a new project and get the default Toon.

I then go to the out panel and create a new Torque node.

I fill it out per the tutorial that I watched and Render it. I get these errors in the dump.html file:

Adding mesh of size 2 to object “proxy_upperarm”.
Adding node “proxy_forearm2” with parent “start01” to subtree rooted on node “base01”.
Attaching object to node.
Adding object named “proxy_forearm”.
Adding mesh of size 2 to object “proxy_forearm”.
Adding node “proxy_upperarm2” with parent “start01” to subtree rooted on node “base01”.
Attaching object to node.
Adding mesh of size 2 to object “proxy_upperarm”.
Found two meshes named “proxy_upperarm” of size 2.
Warnings:
No warnings.

Errors:
Error #40:Found two meshes named “proxy_upperarm” of size 2.
7723 posts
I don't think the Torque Exporter supports object subnets which the Toon character makes heavy use of? Try searching around as I recall this issue has been brought up before. I think you might need to manually rig your character without use of object subnet nodes.
82 posts
Will I be able to rig my character using the auto rig for humanoids? If not can you point me to a tutorial on rigging without sub nodes?
7723 posts
3D Buzz has some old character rigging tutorials done in Houdini 5.5:
http://www.3dbuzz.com/vbforum/sv_houdini.php [3dbuzz.com]

The tools have moved around a bit but the process should be roughly the same.
82 posts
I will give it a look. Thank you.
7723 posts
tpitman
Will I be able to rig my character using the auto rig for humanoids?

Sorry, I forgot to reply to this. Probably not. You're certainly welcome to try though.
69 posts