Procedural/Parametric modelling question

7062   8   2
3 posts
Hi Everyone;

I am new to the Houdini Forums - im primarily a 3dsmax user. However, our company is looking at streamlining some processes, and so i though Houdini.

What we are looking for, is editability with 3d cities / masterplan sites. Currently, we have other team members researching into CityScape (PixelActive) and CityEngine (Procedural Inc.)

I am wondering, can Houdini procedurally and parametrically create cities? Like for example, if i import a DWG or even an image, can i start modelling my terrain and roads, plant houses and all my landscaping; and if the client decides to re-topologise or redesign all the roads, can i adjust the terrain/roads in houdini, and the rest will follow?

I was looking at the CMIVFX videos, but i dont really want to buy them just to answer 1 question.

Does any one know whether we can achieve this in Houdini, and if so, is there any documentation or tutorials that anyone can share.

Cheers for that.

Matt.
7025 posts
Hi Matt,

Houdini can definitely do this. However, it won't be a “bring in dwg and city will appear” type thing

Basically, Houdini is a procedural toolkit. The tutorials on CMIVFX like the procedural cities XML, the original Procedural Cities (made for Houdini 8 but still very relevant) and the Road Builder tutorials show you how to leverage Houdini's operators to build these things.

However, how you build it, and the foresight you put into it, will directly impact how well a base change like a map will travel downstream.

I can't comment on those plugins/programs you mention, but I bet they will more quickly give you a city than Houdini will. I will also bet that Houdini will ultimately give you maximum flexibility and true proceduralism in the long run….

Hope that helps

Cheers,

Peter B
3 posts
Hi Peter

Thanks for the reply! Yeah im not after the whole short-cuts and build-with-one-click, just more edit-ability.