Scattering at Object Level (copy stamping?)

4554   5   2
54 posts
Hey there,
I'm in the process of working on a digital asset to create a fleet of randomized ships, and I've come accross a bit of a problem that I'm having trouble figuring out.

The digital asset is at Object level, and what I'd like to do is create a process or python script that will take the asset, tweak several parameters randomly and place the resulting object to a point in space (or perhaps a point on a grid). Basically I'm wondering how to do copy stamping at object level if this is at all possible.

Does anyone have any suggestions or workarounds for this issue?

Many thanks,
Gary
519 posts
The way to go is to use point-instance and mantra delayed load. I am not experienced with this (yet) so all i can do is point you in the direction of the help files. There are several basic setups in the forums here when you search for “delayed” or “instance”.
257 posts
The easiest workflow would definitely be the delayed load instancing.
This thread has got some of that in there:
http://forums.odforce.net/index.php?/topic/10741-white-swann%c2%b4s-growing-cotton-candy/page__view__findpost__p__70081 [forums.odforce.net]

But you may also want to look into the Mantra hscript or the Mantra program procedural.

Are each of these ships supposed to be animated? Like animated variations, or is it just a bunch of static meshes?
If they are animated I would consider looking into the Mantra program procedural that will:
*) call python to open a houdini (batch), randomize the parameters (with animated values), output the geometry to stdout. I anticipate this will be very slow though.