I need your suggestions

8558   10   2
313 posts
I am going to do a series of projects. I will be using either Houdini or Maya. I will be using renderman to render.

I just want to know if I should give up houdini. (what is your suggestion to me?)

It is just because I am not a professional shader writer. (only briefly went through Renderman Fast and rendering for beginners) So I was going to choose Houdini because of its vexbuilder. But after spending weeks to learn houdini (just rendering). I found it takes very very long time to learn especially the renderman part! The reasons are there are nearly no tutorial which talk about renderman in Houdini! The only way that I could learn is to learn vex shader first, and then try to re-do it with renderman. But this just take longer time to learn. Also, all the rman shader node is Houdini do not have help. I could only learnt it by “guessing”! It took me very long time to just to archive a simple task! Another way for me to learn Houdini(with renderman) is to ask the people in Houdini forum but it also takes very long time to learn this way! (i just cannot rely on other people all the time!) I just wonder if I am the only one in this planet feel this way! on the other hand , very oftern the help file does not explain the step very clearly.