VOPs Flocking

18616   20   2
132 posts
I haven't really gotten into the thick of this experiment but I'd like to describe a theoretical solution to flocking which I plan on setting up in VOPs. This is my second particle operator I've built through VOPs so I'm really new to the pipeline.

I would like to replicate the “boids” model seen here:

http://www.red3d.com/cwr/boids/ [red3d.com]

By casting a cone of rays out in the direction of my particles velocity and letting those rays bounce off other particles I'd like to determine the location of other particles and adjust my velocity based on what my particle “see's.”

Any help or links you could offer would help. I'll be working on this today as an excersize and will update when I make some progress or run into any walls…

I could use any VOPs/VEX tips out there and have been finding a lot online already, any more links you could offer will probably help.
15 posts
http://www.kolve.com/mp_brainbugz/brainbugz.htm [kolve.com] - open source plug-in for Maya doing some nice behavioural animation applied to Maya's particles. It is easy to use and works as expected.
Will not be that hard to catch-up some ideas and to extract the math from there.

EDIT: Forgot to mention - take a look at the Thesis page - it is based on CraigRaynolds papers.
Staff
2592 posts
http://odforce.net/forum/index.php?showtopic=2131&hl= [odforce.net]

Probably not exactly what you're looking for, but fun none the less.
132 posts
Thanks guys these responses have been really helpful. The bugbrainz plugin by Carsten Kolve is pretty slick! Now I just have to replicate the same kind of thing in Houdini… thanks again for the input so far!
132 posts
Update:

Okay, it is becoming clear to me that in order to do this correctly I have to familiarize myself more with the way a VOP_particle network should work.