3DCoat-Houdini Applinker

   10834   18   5
User Avatar
Member
81 posts
Joined: March 2014
Offline
Hi.

I did 3DCoat-Houdini Applinker asset. It's possible to export-import meshes and export textures from 3DCoat. Very useful for modeling and texturing artists.

The asset: http://www.orbolt.com/asset/mifth::mifth_3dcoat_applinker [orbolt.com]



- Set the Exchange folder before exporting/importing. On linux it's at ‘home/user/3DCoatVersion/Exchange’. On Windows it's somewhere at user documents. 3DCoat creates such a folder itself.
- Tested on Linux. If you have any issues on Windows then write me here.

Video test of export/import of meshes and textures:
https://youtu.be/4WVgfgugZ5M [youtu.be]

3DCoat thread:
http://3dcoat.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=19145 [3dcoat.com]
Edited by - April 6, 2016 06:04:16
User Avatar
Member
394 posts
Joined: Feb. 2013
Offline
Looking forward to this!
User Avatar
Member
81 posts
Joined: March 2014
Offline
And! The asset is now at Orbolt!

http://www.orbolt.com/asset/mifth::mifth_3dcoat_applinker [orbolt.com]

Enjoy and test it!
User Avatar
Member
9 posts
Joined: Sept. 2016
Offline
Thank you
User Avatar
Member
55 posts
Joined: July 2011
Offline
Hi ya, this is a very useful tool. could you update it for H16.5 please?
I've created a folder in 3dcoat 4.7.5 name ‘Exchange’ but it doesn't get accepted by the dialog box on selection.


Thank you!
User Avatar
Member
81 posts
Joined: March 2014
Offline
Hi!
Actually it works in 16.5. All you need is just to copy the Exchange path. I'll fix it at Orbolt soon.
https://youtu.be/_JZVCWtCZCk [youtu.be]
User Avatar
Member
81 posts
Joined: March 2014
Offline
I have just updated the asset at orbolt.
User Avatar
Member
355 posts
Joined: Dec. 2006
Offline
Thanks man for your work!
User Avatar
Member
6406 posts
Joined: July 2005
Offline
Hi Paul,

I'm attempting to download it but I get an empty (0 byte) OTL file. I'm doing Manual Install btw, I can't install using Houdini at work.

Cheers,

Peter B
User Avatar
Member
6406 posts
Joined: July 2005
Offline
Strange it works OK at home. Nevermind, must be a quirk with my work machine.
User Avatar
Member
1 posts
Joined: Dec. 2017
Offline
Hi, can this be used on a Mac? Thx. Rob
User Avatar
Member
81 posts
Joined: March 2014
Offline
Hi. I guess yes. If you set correct path.
It worked on linux.
User Avatar
Member
403 posts
Joined: July 2005
Offline
Seems to load in 17. Even though DL page states compatibility with versions 13 to 15.5. What am I missing? 17 is back compatible. Correct?
User Avatar
Member
403 posts
Joined: July 2005
Offline
Seems to load in 17. Even though DL page states compatibility with versions 13 to 15.5. What am I missing? 17 is back compatible. Correct?
User Avatar
Member
81 posts
Joined: March 2014
Offline
All should work ok.
User Avatar
Member
1101 posts
Joined: March 2014
Offline
Unfortunately can't get this to work with H17.5. Some Python error..

Any idea why?
Edited by Werner Ziemerink - March 25, 2019 04:18:37
Werner Ziemerink
Head of 3D
www.luma.co.za
User Avatar
Member
81 posts
Joined: March 2014
Offline
Thanks for the report. Let me test 3dcoat again. I'll download it and get back soon.
User Avatar
Member
81 posts
Joined: March 2014
Offline
Hello!

I investigated the problem. H17.5 uses relative paths by default. Just make Absolute path for the node you want to export.

Like this example:



I fixed relative path exporting. It will be V10 of the asset. The version 10 will be available at Orbolt in several of days.

Thanks for the report. Let me if all works fine now.
Edited by Pavel Geraskin - March 27, 2019 07:06:29
User Avatar
Member
1101 posts
Joined: March 2014
Offline
Thanks, I will give it a go and report back here.
Werner Ziemerink
Head of 3D
www.luma.co.za
  • Quick Links