debian kernel 2.6

9069   10   3
1 posts
hi,

i am new to the houdini apprentice program and want to download houdini for my debian distr. i read that it is important to chose the right distr. of houdinin that is compatible with my libs and kernel. i am running debian sarge on a kernel 2.6.6 and xfce 4.2.2 (i also have gnome, just in case). anybody knows which download i should choose? i just wanted to ask before i get on and try every single one ;-)

thanks
killkolor
276 posts
I think you should be able to get away with the RH9 build. Check here for more info too:

http://www.odforce.net/wiki/index.php/PlatformIssues [odforce.net]

Take care,
George.
330 posts
RH9 is fine for Unbuntu so id be surprised if it was different for Debian
325 posts
Hi,

I am planning to install Debian 3.1 r1r0a Sarge on my AMD 64 bit Dual Core system. On the other hand it is stated that 64-bit Debian version of Houdini installation is meant for SID package of Debian. Does it mean that Sarge version won't be able to run it? Or did I get something wrong?

Thanks.
I liked the Mustang
Staff
5161 posts
Does it mean that Sarge version won't be able to run it? Or did I get something wrong?

Nope, Houdini should run on Sarge. Sid is recommended, as it's stable, and in the long run, you'll likely have fewer difficulties. But if you want to be on the bleeding edge, with all the features and headaches that entails, you can use Sarge with Houdini.
325 posts
I am sorry, but according to this page -
http://www.debian.org/releases/unstable/index.en.html [debian.org]

“The code name for Debian's development distribution is ”sid“, aliased to ”unstable“. Most of the development work that is done in Debian, is uploaded to this distribution. This distribution will never get released; instead, packages from it will propagate into testing and then into a real release.”

i.e. SID is unstable, while Sarge is officially stable. On the other hand you say that
Sid is recommended, as it's stable