Instant Meshes Bridge Sop

   29122   92   20
User Avatar
Member
240 posts
Joined:
Offline
can somebody point me to file pointing to 3d scan + texture
so that maybe i can help figuring how to maintain uv and texture or color in houdini…

Best regards
Patar
User Avatar
Member
118 posts
Joined: Feb. 2016
Offline
patar
can somebody point me to file pointing to 3d scan + texture
so that maybe i can help figuring how to maintain uv and texture or color in houdini…

Best regards
Patar

Hello patar, thanks for checking out!
Here is a simple scan…

Cheers
Edited by Andr1 - Aug. 15, 2017 04:57:06

Attachments:
treeTest.rar (1.5 MB)

User Avatar
Member
2160 posts
Joined: Feb. 2012
Offline
Hi,

I also made my own wrapper to retopo some meshes from within Houdini. It has the binaries built-into the HDA so it's portable. It should work on Windows and Linux. So far I only tested on Windows.

Attachments:
Retopology_SOP_Animatrix.otl (5.9 MB)

Senior Houdini FX TD @ MPC

patreon.com/animatrix

vimeo.com/animatrix3d
linkedin.com/in/animatrix3d
User Avatar
Member
240 posts
Joined:
Offline
thanx for this…
User Avatar
Member
118 posts
Joined: Feb. 2016
Offline
hey thanks a lot, it's very convenient!
I noticed that topology slightly changes if you insert a “null node” or any other node before the otl. Also, it doesn't return back to the original retopo when you delete that node.
Point/prim count changes too: I guess it's not a big deal, but worth mentioning just in case one doesn't use a super solid workflow that takes in account primnum changes..

I couldn't check if that happens as well with the version by Ikruel, because I can't make it work anymore
User Avatar
Staff
182 posts
Joined: Nov. 2012
Offline
For what it's worth, mine is now part of the Game Development Toolset up on Github.

I'm hoping to record a video of it today

https://github.com/sideeffects/GameDevelopmentToolset/tree/Development [github.com]
Luiz Kruel
Senior Technical Artist
SideFX
User Avatar
Member
118 posts
Joined: Feb. 2016
Offline
it's worth it's worth! thank you guys for putting so much effort into the gamedev tools!
User Avatar
Member
240 posts
Joined:
Offline
came a bit late, also its not the most beautiful implementation, but it works
this is my way to transfer color from a scanned object to the object with instantmesh applied with totally different uv and point number (it can also work with any other mesh as long its pretty much has the same form)

basicly my idea is to transfer those color from the texture map to point cloud and bake the point color on to the new uv
to get the final texture render the bake rop in the network the texture color should be in cf channel

would like to know if theres a way to improve the workflow…

best regards
Patar

Attachments:
Capture2.JPG (172.2 KB)
transferColorFromScannedObject.zip (2.1 MB)

User Avatar
Member
116 posts
Joined: April 2016
Offline
Anyone successfully running this on CentOS 6.7? We keep getting GL errors and it refuses to launch across multiple drivers and cards. Works fine at home on Win10.
Simon van de Lagemaat
owner the Embassy VFX
User Avatar
Member
162 posts
Joined: Nov. 2010
Offline
These game tools are great. I get an error message with IMB though:


Anyone else getting this on MacOSX?

Attachments:
sop_instant_meshes_bridge1_and_untitled_hip_-_Houdini_Indie_Limited-Commercial_16_0_705.png (80.7 KB)

User Avatar
Staff
182 posts
Joined: Nov. 2012
Offline
Hey Kevin,

I haven't tried it in MacOS yet… If you dive into the HDA you might be able to see what the error is. Or if you uncheck the Hide Instant Meshes dialog, maybe the terminal will give you some info.

Luiz
Luiz Kruel
Senior Technical Artist
SideFX
User Avatar
Member
99 posts
Joined: Aug. 2014
Offline
kevinthebright
These game tools are great. I get an error message with IMB though:

Anyone else getting this on MacOSX?

I see the same issue. The stand alone works fine btw.

The HDA seems to error on line 32 of the python node in the HDA. Basically the last line.. geo.loadFromFile(out_path)
Edited by Kfinla - Sept. 10, 2017 18:20:44

Attachments:
Instant_Meshes_error_OSX.png (211.0 KB)

User Avatar
Member
21 posts
Joined: Jan. 2015
Offline
This is such a great tool! ultrathanks!
On Windows at home it works fine!
On Mac at work i still cannot figure it out.
anybody got it working on mac?
User Avatar
Member
99 posts
Joined: Aug. 2014
Offline
*bump*, any news here? Last I tried I was unable to get this to work on OSX. I might try replacing the $temp paths with a real path since “output” seems to be the error.. perhaps a permissions issue?
User Avatar
Member
173 posts
Joined: Feb. 2013
Offline
Make sure your path to the Instant Meshes application points to the actual MacOS executable, not just its enclosing bundle.



/Applications/Instant Meshes.app/Contents/MacOS/Instant Meshes

I aggree with the notion of replacing $TEMPwith a different directory.

$TEMPmaps to /tmp, but MacOS seems to prefer wherever $TMPDIRpoints to, such as:

/private/var/folders/yh/tsryfjg152138smpt90_lkdc0000gp/T
User Avatar
Member
99 posts
Joined: Aug. 2014
Offline
Got it working with these settings on OSX. Huzzah!

Attachments:
Screen Shot 2017-10-13 at 5.51.40 PM.png (60.8 KB)

User Avatar
Member
10 posts
Joined: June 2016
Offline
Hi,
Why is my mesh intersecting?

Attachments:
Mesh.jpg (87.1 KB)

User Avatar
Member
21 posts
Joined: Jan. 2015
Offline
Kfinla and Cyzor this is awesome thank you! …the $TEMP seemed to be the problem for mac.
User Avatar
Member
4 posts
Joined: Oct. 2015
Offline
Hi!


I am having the same problem "
099440a80f774063a1e115922
Hi,
Why is my mesh intersecting?

I am using Houdini 16.5.268 Indie Version on Windows 10. Is it a bug or we are doing something wrong?

Cheers!

Attachments:
Capture.JPG (149.9 KB)

User Avatar
Staff
182 posts
Joined: Nov. 2012
Offline
Hey guys,

Can someone send me one of those files that are erroring out? I haven't been able to reproduce it.

You can try hitting Clear Cache and seeing if the problem goes away. I'm wondering if that's an issue with loading the OBJs back in from IM or something that they're generating.

I've also pushed an update to the Development branch that adds the Quad Dominant option and control over the Crease Angle.
Luiz Kruel
Senior Technical Artist
SideFX
  • Quick Links