Benefits of bumping RAM up

3974   5   1
208 posts
I'm running a Mac Pro with 32Gb RAM. I'm thinking I'll bump that to 64Gb (about $400) but wondering if I should go to 96Gb (about $850)? Thoughts on 32 vs 64 vs 96? Also, anyone know Houdini's upper limit to addressing available RAM?
90 posts
Depends if you're doing simulation work or not. I remember seeing people get 128 or even 256 gb ram for sim machines. I think Houdini would utilize as much as you have. Again depends on how big your sims are.
2041 posts
Yeah, I think LLFAs first word sums it up - “Depends”.

I'm no expert in how to improve ones rig for using Houdini, but here's what I noticed so far when I was considering more ram for my system.

One part of my project made heavy use of ‘complicated’ object movements using chops. Alot of that work was also done in VEX ( which is known to be lightweight - but I took advantage of that and made ‘heavy’ use of it.).

The result was very slow cook times which put my workflow to a crawl as far as tweaking my settings for motion and position adjustments of my objects.

This is when I started looking into getting more RAM. But as I read I realized the cooking part had more to do with my processing power. Fine I thought, I'll look into parallel processing and came across some boards ( one offered by Intel although expensive) that seemed to be a solution, and also different strategies.

But then I came across some older forum discussions on this topic and read that although there are processes that could benefit from parallel processing there are some ‘routines’( in Houdini ) that by necessity need to be single threaded.

So I thought I'll leave it as it is until I become more knowledgable of what Houdini does or doesn't do in terms processing. ( The performance monitor under Houdinis window tab is a good tool to see where in your network what is taking up the most resources - I also make use of windows task manager processes window ).