Houdini in comparision to 3ds Max?

33237   37   5
7 posts
Hi there,

I just recently saw an advertisement about Houdini on Facebook and thought why not check it out?* I was quite amazed by this tool and started to learn the general things about it, like first off what it can, where it is used etc.

I for myself am currently a student at the SAE institue Bochum (Germany) in Game art & 3D Animations and there I just learned basics of Autodesk Maya and a lot about Autodesk 3ds Max and several other programms etc. in general. However I for myself learned most of the time tutorial paths for 3ds Max, those from the SAE, Digital Tutors and later Pluralsight and became quite fond of it. Unfortunately I've some problems with Max since I started learning it. Those problems are the needs of Plugins which can cause the programm to freeze, crash etc. it's unstability, all those damn annoying bugs, it's heavy load, etc.

While I learned a little bit about Houdini thoughts in my mind developed if I should stay with 3ds Max, switch to Houdini, what are the difference except the obvious ones (f.e. UI), how much is it used in the industry, is their a comparrision in English or German about those two programms etc.

Well and that mainly is it, what I want to know from you is what are the difference in all factors, where does Houdini shines and where not, what does Houdini better than Max and the opposite, how thinks the indursty about it, how much is it used, how difficult is it to learn it, etc. More or less a comparison between those two programs, as wrote in the title.

I appreciate any answere to my questions, which have the aim to help me and other people coming from Max and are interested in Houdini.

Thats it, have a nice day and my greetings,
Logan the Hamster

P.S.: I apologize for my english if there is anything to apologize for, as you can guess it's not my motherlanguage. ^^

*Whoever made this add, good job mate!
19 posts