Can't export animation in FBX

   2719   10   2
User Avatar
Member
20 posts
Joined: Oct. 2014
Offline
Hi,

I'm using Houdini Indie and can't export an animation rig to .fbx. I'm making sure I'm specifying the frame range and take, and have tried multiple different fbx versions and checkbox combinations. To test the resulting file, I'm using both Unity and Autodesk FBX Review in MacOS High Sierra.

I even built a barebones scene with a bouncing sphere just to test it, and it still doesn't work (mesh is exported, but no animation).

I'm attaching the basic bouncing ball scene, just in case.
Any help is greatly appreciated.
Thanks!

Attachments:
bouncyball.hiplc (66.6 KB)

User Avatar
Member
1803 posts
Joined: June 2008
Offline
Hmm…it seems to work for me.

Attachments:
Untitled-1.jpg (116.2 KB)
ap_bouncyball_FBX_export.hiplc (68.7 KB)
bouncyBall.fbx (33.1 KB)

Using Houdini Indie

Windows 7 32GB AMD FX8370 @ 4.1Ghz
nVidia 1070GTX 8BG RAM. Driver: 397.31
User Avatar
Member
20 posts
Joined: Oct. 2014
Offline
Oh, I didn't know there was a FilmBox out node! That one works.
I was using the File/Export menu, which seems to be broken and doesn't export the frame range correctly. Bug?

Thanks!
User Avatar
Member
12 posts
Joined: Jan. 2017
Offline
Solved a similar problem for me as well! Thank you
User Avatar
Member
80 posts
Joined: July 2007
Offline
AYAYAY!!
I just burned a couple hours with the same broken FBX exporter (File->Export->Filmbox FBX…).
It definitely is broken on Mac High Sierra Houdini 16.5.268. No idea which versions it may have worked on. Absolutely no keyframes, even with the simplest test scenes. Even importing back into Houdini itself.
But the Filmbox Output ROP DOES work. Frustrating but thankful for a way forward!
User Avatar
Member
6773 posts
Joined: July 2005
Offline
I'd try the latest 16.5.323 production build. This bug should have been fixed in 16.5.314.
Edited by edward - Dec. 31, 2017 02:32:37
User Avatar
Member
19 posts
Joined: Sept. 2017
Online
“I just burned a couple hours with the same broken FBX exporter (File->Export->Filmbox FBX…).”

I wish they would just remove that menu-level option – I just lost time because in 17.5 Apprentice the menu-level option silently fails whereas the FBX ROP correctly warns you that FBX export is unsupported in Apprentice.

Why are there two ways to export FBX? Just so we can have divergent bugs like these? I vote to just get rid of the menu-level option and stick to the ROP.

I think it is especially a big problem because FBX export in all apps is finnicky and if you are in blind try-everything mode you now have to try everything TWICE because, hey, maybe it works one way in the menu-level FBX version and another way in the FBX ROP.
Edited by xxyxxy - April 29, 2019 17:52:28
User Avatar
Member
6773 posts
Joined: July 2005
Offline
xxyxxy
I wish they would just remove that menu-level option – I just lost time because in 17.5 Apprentice the menu-level option silently fails whereas the FBX ROP correctly warns you that FBX export is unsupported in Apprentice.

That's odd, are you macOS? On Windows, those menu items are disabled for me.
Edited by edward - April 30, 2019 07:59:40

Attachments:
Capture.PNG (38.7 KB)

User Avatar
Member
19 posts
Joined: Sept. 2017
Online
Yes, I'm running Mojave. I'll write a bug, but my larger point was that it is sort of annoying to have two ways (menu and ROP) to do (purportedly) the same exact thing especially on such a platform-slash-engine finicky process as FBX export where unfortunately things often descend into “try ever export option available until it works”… it would just be nice to have less variables.

I guess the benefit is that you save time by not dropping a ROP, but… really? It's not like removing the default File SOP in 17.0. That's something people do a thousand times a day. Export (for me at least) is an end-of-proj thing that has to be perfect so I don't mind spending 1000ms dropping a ROP.
Edited by xxyxxy - May 2, 2019 15:18:22
User Avatar
Member
6773 posts
Joined: July 2005
Offline
There are two ways because we have a hard time making functionality discoverable for new users. For more seasoned users, the ROPs become the workflow default.
User Avatar
Staff
1030 posts
Joined: July 2005
Offline
xxyxxy
I wish they would just remove that menu-level option – I just lost time because in 17.5 Apprentice the menu-level option silently fails whereas the FBX ROP correctly warns you that FBX export is unsupported in Apprentice.

I fixed the bug on macOS and the Export FBX menu will be disabled in Houdini Apprentice starting in tomorrow's 17.5.245 build.

Cheers,
Rob
  • Quick Links