Installation problems - "an older version...."

   522   6   0
User Avatar
Member
1 posts
Joined: Dec. 2017
Offline
I'm trying to install apprentice and this is what I get…

“An old version of the licence (4,x or older) is running on this machine. To be able to install and return licenses successfully, please upgrade the license server version 16.5.378 now.” I tried to manually generate them and install them but I get the same message…running on macair (failry old) - os Siera 10.12.1

Any help? Thanks
User Avatar
Staff
23 posts
Joined: Aug. 2016
Offline
It sounds like something is wrong with your license server. You mention your Mac Air is “fairly old”. You should make sure it meets the minimum system requirements [www.sidefx.com]. If it does, try re-installing Houdini 16.5.378. If you still get the same error, contact SideFX support and send them a description of what you have tried, and a license diagnostic (open the License Administrator, then choose View > Diagnostic Information).
User Avatar
Member
2 posts
Joined: July 2016
Offline
Hey, just purchase Indie for OSX and am having the same problem. Ive used Houdini on this mac for 1.5 years, so I know it works. I uninstalled 15.5 and re-installed 16.5.378 twice. Nothing. Not sure whats going on but I ran diagnostics and am submitting it to support now.
Attachment Not Found

Attachment Not Found

Attachments:
Screen Shot 2018-02-10 at 4.04.43 PM.png (437.4 KB)

User Avatar
Member
31 posts
Joined: March 2018
Offline
Same thing here! Horrible user experience. Just shelled out for two years after testing apperentice and now it is just a lot of errors so I cannot run anything.
User Avatar
Member
31 posts
Joined: March 2018
Offline
Please advise what do do? I also sent a mail to support
User Avatar
Member
31 posts
Joined: March 2018
Offline
after complete unistalls etc: this is what greets me when I try to start:
so….yeah well, 399$ down the drain, 3 hours of furious irritation…

Attachments:
Screenshot 2019-01-13 at 15.04.45.png (566.3 KB)

User Avatar
Member
31 posts
Joined: March 2018
Offline
Ok I solved part of the problem:
There was an entry in the faq regarding this issue:
where one is supposed to edit the /etc/hosts file and add a mapping.https://www.sidefx.com/faq/licensing-trouble/#faq207 [www.sidefx.com]
Not what you expect from the error message…
Anyway, I seemed to have installed two license for the same computer. I assume I will solve this with sidefx/support.
This thread might be usefull for someone else, but otherwise, it could be removed
  • Quick Links