Asset questions

2473   7   2
375 posts
Hi all
What I'm trying to do is quite simple: I have a “master” scene where I build an object. This object will then be used in many different scenes.
So in my master scene , I turned my object into an asset . Now I have some questions:
- Is it mandatory that all the object's material are inside a material network node?
- In the “edit operator type properties” dialog, does the “save to library” path (cProject_Folder/hda/asset.hda) ensures the asset is external, and not edited inside the scene?
- In scene B, how can I make changes on the asset and have these changes saved into the hda file (in cProject_Folder/hda/asset.hda) ?

Thanks
Gz
Houdini gamboler
8554 posts
1. not mandatory, however any materials that are not nested anywhere under your asset will not be saved with the asset
- if your objects contain paths to the materials at which it will find the material in the scene it's instanced in then it will use that material
- you can also just promote material paths and then drag any materials there you want onto each instance
- but yes, if you wish to embed materials you have to have Matnet or Shopnet with materials somewhere inside your asset

2. pretty much, if it was internal, saved in the hip file, it'd say Embedded instead of the path

3. RMB/Allow Editing Of Contents… will unlock asset for editing
- then after editing RMB/Save Node Type will update the asset type in the external path it's sourced from and lock the asset (probably also Assets/Save Asset)
- or any time you hit Apply Or Accept in the Edit Operator Type Properties window

4. if you want to just revert changes you did on unlocked asset since last 3. without updating the definition again just do RMB/Match With Current Definition (also probably Assets/Lock Asset),
Edited by tamte - Aug. 13, 2018 22:00:01
Tomas Slancik
FX Supervisor
Method Studios, NY
375 posts
Thanks, thanks again Tamte, thanks many times!!

Houdini gamboler
375 posts
Hello