Height Maps Displace with No UVs

   270   6   0
User Avatar
Member
31 posts
Joined: Oct. 2018
Offline
Hey all. Can Height map data be displaced on an object much like noise vops displace without the need of UVs? I guess maybe a better question is would it work in a VDB sense?
Edited by luidox - May 29, 2020 16:32:56
User Avatar
Member
31 posts
Joined: Oct. 2018
Offline
bump
User Avatar
Member
196 posts
Joined: June 2017
Offline
You can add noise to the displacement of a shader and it will work without uv maps, but I'm pretty sure you can't add a image to the normal, bump, or displacement and expect it to work without a map.
User Avatar
Member
31 posts
Joined: Oct. 2018
Offline
Island
You can add noise to the displacement of a shader and it will work without uv maps, but I'm pretty sure you can't add a image to the normal, bump, or displacement and expect it to work without a map.


was affraid of that. so that means heightfields are UVd in order to project mmaps to displace DEM data?
User Avatar
Member
4851 posts
Joined: July 2007
Offline
You don't need uvs to sample texture
Any 0-1 values would do, in case you don't have anything better you can fit object or world space P from certain range to 0-1 and use that instead of uv
Edited by tamte - May 30, 2020 02:27:57
Tomas Slancik
FX Supervisor
Method Studios, NY
User Avatar
Member
544 posts
Joined: July 2005
Offline
luidox
was affraid of that. so that means heightfields are UVd in order to project mmaps to displace DEM data?

Are you talking specifically about heightfields in Houdini? You can just load an image into a Heightfield File node, no UV prep necessary. Otherwise, arbitrary geometry would need coordinates, yes.
Edited by DaJuice - May 30, 2020 02:50:15
User Avatar
Member
31 posts
Joined: Oct. 2018
Offline
DaJuice
luidox
was affraid of that. so that means heightfields are UVd in order to project mmaps to displace DEM data?

Are you talking specifically about heightfields in Houdini? You can just load an image into a Heightfield File node, no UV prep necessary. Otherwise, arbitrary geometry would need coordinates, yes.

no def not using heightfields. im just trying to sculpt in geo using something like megascan height data or even substance maps but don't wanna worry about UVs at this stage. Labs just released a triplaner set up im looking at too.

tamte
You don't need uvs to sample texture
Any 0-1 values would do, in case you don't have anything better you can fit object or world space P from certain range to 0-1 and use that instead of uv

do you have a visual example by chance?
  • Quick Links