Anyone else running on a 2019 Mac Pro with mixed results?

5511   34   2
71 posts
I was very excited to get my new Mac Pro for a variety of professional creative endeavors, but I've become an avid Houdini hobbyist and especially couldn't wait to see the difference from the sad, old, 4-core MacBook Pro I was replacing.

I have to say, it's been a mixed bag. While Houdini is obviously vastly more performant with multithreaded tasks (not so much with single), I'm experiencing WAAAAY more crashing than I used to. And I was already experiencing quite a lot of crashing! I don't have particularly complex setups as I am still learning, some basic FLIP work and playing around with Vellum. Basic modeling. Really nothing to write home about. But it doesn't matter what scene I'm working on, they all crash!

Here's my setup:
+ 2.7 GHz 24-Core Intel Xeon W
+ 384 GB 2933 MHz DDR4
+ AMD Radeon Pro W5700X 16 GB
+ 4GB SSD
+ macOS Catalina 10.15.5
+ Houdini 18.0.460
(Yes, this is my version of a mid-life crisis sports car.)

Any obvious red flags? I guess I assumed all of the crashing I had been experiencing on my laptop was due to the machine's age and poor specs. Imagine my unpleasant surprise!
4189 posts
Unfortunately, you've discovered, via an expensive purchase, why the majority of Houdini uses avoid MacOS. There at least one user who uses a Hackintosh with great success but for everyone else you're describing the MacOS+Houdini experience.
71 posts
That’s interesting, so many of SideFX’s own tutorials are on Macs. Seems a bit misleading if the software isn’t up to par.
4189 posts
Absolutely! It happened with Mari and the last MacPro too many years ago. It boils down to Apple using an 10-year-old version of OpenGL and Houdini not being written for Apple's Metal graphics framework.

You can keep sending in bugs etc and listen to others who say Mac works, but if it doesn't work for you, best to switch to Windows or Linux or drop Houdini on MacOS.
71 posts