Revolve, Subdivision and Front view selection problems

2733   12   2
4 posts
Hi I am new to Houdini watching tutorials.
Now I ahve been following this Tutorial [www.sidefx.com]

Doing a wine glass buy drawing a curve -> revolve -> Crease -> subdivide.

My issue is I do everything the same but my glass does not get clean division like the video!

What am I doing wrong?!!
This is the result of my glass

The other problem is I try to make a selection in the front view to select all the faces uniformly.
But it seems I pressed something and now selects half the faces, it ignores the far end faces.

I tried the Shift + v. That is not it.

It is driving me crazy :P

Attachments:
Capture.PNG (1.6 MB)
Division.PNG (1.7 MB)

340 posts
There are several changes with the new curve tool that might be a factor. Attached is a file where you can remove or keep the crease node and you will see it subdivides fine. (I added some blast and polycap nodes to avoid triangles though) There are a few checkboxes and output specifications in the revolve node that need to be used to make it work. Personally, I would omit the crease node. Regarding the front view selection, do you have the eye icon turned on when you are selecting?

One thing that was not obvious in a quick look at the tutorial is that he built the wine glass curve using polygon mode. The curve tool defaults to bezier, and for your purposes, I would change it to polygon (the way curves used to work).
Edited by Island - Jan. 19, 2022 22:22:52

Attachments:
RevolveCurve.jpg (188.3 KB)
RevolveCurve.hiplc (170.7 KB)

4 posts
Hello Island!

I tried again to make it without crease and it still had those weird gathered edges on every curve point. Re-reading your post this: