Render gallery can't save when using linux
1766 8 2-
- GreenPitaya
- Member
- 37 posts
- Joined: April 2020
- Offline
-
- GreenPitaya
- Member
- 37 posts
- Joined: April 2020
- Offline
-
- Jonathan de Blok
- Member
- 281 posts
- Joined: July 2013
- Offline
https://www.sidefx.com/docs/houdini/ref/panes/rendergallery.html#storage [www.sidefx.com]
You can control the path where the gallery saves/loads it data from.
You can control the path where the gallery saves/loads it data from.
More code, less clicks.
-
- robp_sidefx
- Staff
- 527 posts
- Joined: June 2020
- Offline
cuihaifu
I can save hipfile , render image to server, cache usd or bgeo to server, but Can't save renderGallery.
Does a
galleries
subdirectory of $HIP
already exist? If so, do you have permissions to write into it? If not, do you have permissions to create it?
Edited by robp_sidefx - April 1, 2024 03:32:26
-
- GreenPitaya
- Member
- 37 posts
- Joined: April 2020
- Offline
robp_sidefxIt auto create the "galleries" folder,"*.stage" folder and "rendergallery.db" file ,but the file is 0kb,it says no permissioncuihaifu
I can save hipfile , render image to server, cache usd or bgeo to server, but Can't save renderGallery.
Does agalleries
subdirectory of$HIP
already exist? If so, do you have permissions to write into it? If not, do you have permissions to create it?
-
- robp_sidefx
- Staff
- 527 posts
- Joined: June 2020
- Offline
-
- kmanlove
- Member
- 1 posts
- Joined: July 2022
- Offline
robp_sidefx
If you delete that 0kb file and try again do you end up in the same position, or does it now work? We've been unable to reproduce anything like this so far.
I'm having the same issue on Rocky Linux 9.3, 20.0.653. If I delete the 0kb rendergallery.db file, it complains of the same error, creates the empty file again, and goes to in memory storage.
-
- johnlilpy
- Member
- 49 posts
- Joined: Oct. 2021
- Online
-
- kensho.murata
- Member
- 3 posts
- Joined: Oct. 2021
- Offline
Hi, I had the same issue with my Linux Mint machine, but I solved it yesterday!
✅ Issue
Houdini's Render Gallery uses SQLite to store data. When saving to a NAS (Network Attached Storage), users may encounter errors such as:
・ database is locked (5)
・ Permission Denied
This happens because NAS file locking mechanisms interfere with SQLite’s required locks.
✅ Causes
1. CIFS (SMB) mounts do not support SQLite’s byte-range locking by default.
2. Houdini’s Render Gallery relies on SQLite, which cannot function properly if locks cannot be acquired.
✅ Solutions: Add nobrl Option for CIFS (SMB) Mounts
If using CIFS (SMB) to mount the NAS, follow these steps:
1. Unmount the existing NAS mount:
sudo umount /mnt/NAS
2. Remount it with the nobrl option:
sudo mount -t cifs //NAS_IP/your_share /mnt/NAS \
-o username=your_user,password=your_password,uid=1000,gid=1000,vers=3.0,nobrl
3. To make this change permanent, edit /etc/fstab:
sudo nano /etc/fstab
4. Add the following line:
//NAS_IP/your_share /mnt/NAS cifs username=your_user,password=your_password,uid=1000,gid=1000,vers=3.0,nobrl 0 0
Apply the changes:
sudo mount -a
If you use SMB to mount NAS, it might help.
✅ Issue
Houdini's Render Gallery uses SQLite to store data. When saving to a NAS (Network Attached Storage), users may encounter errors such as:
・ database is locked (5)
・ Permission Denied
This happens because NAS file locking mechanisms interfere with SQLite’s required locks.
✅ Causes
1. CIFS (SMB) mounts do not support SQLite’s byte-range locking by default.
2. Houdini’s Render Gallery relies on SQLite, which cannot function properly if locks cannot be acquired.
✅ Solutions: Add nobrl Option for CIFS (SMB) Mounts
If using CIFS (SMB) to mount the NAS, follow these steps:
1. Unmount the existing NAS mount:
sudo umount /mnt/NAS
2. Remount it with the nobrl option:
sudo mount -t cifs //NAS_IP/your_share /mnt/NAS \
-o username=your_user,password=your_password,uid=1000,gid=1000,vers=3.0,nobrl
3. To make this change permanent, edit /etc/fstab:
sudo nano /etc/fstab
4. Add the following line:
//NAS_IP/your_share /mnt/NAS cifs username=your_user,password=your_password,uid=1000,gid=1000,vers=3.0,nobrl 0 0
Apply the changes:
sudo mount -a
If you use SMB to mount NAS, it might help.
-
- Quick Links