Weird View Error in Apprentice

8016   10   2
4 posts
Hi!

I am new to Houdini, and I must say that its capabilities are simply incredible. However, I seem to be having a really odd problem. I seems that whatever I do in Houdini, there are weird blocks of color in the workspace. I have included a screenshot below. Any help resolving this issue would be greatly appreciated. Thanks a lot!

483 posts
This is something I've seen when using Intel integrated graphics drivers. You can work around it by setting the environment variable HOUDINI_OGL_SOFTWARE to 1 in your computer properties.
4 posts
Joe, thank you very much for your prompt answer. I'm sorry to use up even more of your time, Joe, but I'm not sure I understand! I have never had to change environment variables before, and I do not know how. Is the “HOUDINI_OGL_SOFTWARE” a variable that already exists, or it one that I have to create? If so, how do I do that?

Thanks again,
Quinn

By the way, you were right: I do have an Intel integrated graphics driver.
12468 posts
Hi there,

Go to XP's Start Menu > Control Panel > System > Advanced tab > Environment Variable button and add a new System (or User) variable of the name described above.

Good luck,
Jason
Jason Iversen, Technology Supervisor & FX Pipeline/R+D Lead @ Weta FX
also, http://www.odforce.net [www.odforce.net]
4 posts
Yikes! I created the new environment variable, and set its value to 1. I wish I could say that it worked, but it didn't. :cry: I was still able to follow your instructions, but does it matter that I have Vista?

Also, I was thinking. The screenshot below is what Houdini looks like from the top view. So it is pretty clear to me that the two things I circled in green are causing the problems. Is there a way (in preferences or something) to remove them?

519 posts
D they are the axis you see (uhm in top that must be the x and z axis…). They should be there so nothing wrong with that screenshot!
483 posts