New to it all...

8801   13   3
6 posts
Hi everyone,

Well, I am new to vfx and I wanted to learn how to do effects used in films like Harry Potter spells and X-men super powers. I was told the area I wanted to learn is dynamics. I don't know anything really and I am starting from the beginning. I was told that Houdini is the best for dynamics and for what I was trying to achieve. I figured why not learn the best first and not waste my time, right? (or maybe no I was just looking for advice on where to start and how to start. I have the apprentice version and it looks pretty intimidating.

Apex
Edited by - May 1, 2008 17:36:25
113 posts
Welcome Apex,

Still kind of a newbie myself since I started using Houdini a couple of months ago, but I'm getting the grasp of it!

For dynamics specifically, there are a couple tutorials in the learning/tutorials section here, “houdini 9 dynamics”, “avalanche previsualization”. The last two recent ones cover the fluid/gas solver and are a bit advanced, don't start with these!

There's also the “working with particles” pdf, which is for H8, but is easy to apply to H9. (I'm guessing you want to do particles too)

Gnomon (thegnonomworkshop.com) has an in-depth dvd on rigid body dynamics, once again for H8, but it applies to H9.
Digital tutors has an introduction to dynamics as well.

However dynamics (well, the dynamic operators, because particles are a bit separate) is the most advanced part of houdini imho, so you may want to check other tutorials to get to know the interface and the concepts, before diving into dynamics.

There are also the legacy tutorials on odforce : http://odforce.net/downloads/videos/v6/ [odforce.net]

Check the examples in the H9 doc also, when you middle-click on the nodes in the network view, there are some explanations (most of the time).

Hope it helps!
Vincent
6 posts