Volume "Use Streamers" Exporting Lines

4446   7   1
3 posts
I am a new user to Houdini and am quite pleased with it so far. My question is whether there is a way to export the “Streamer” lines in the Velocity section of a Volume. Would it be better to advect particles and then trace them some how? I am totally new to this software, so any assistance would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!
Staff
3455 posts
the documentation covers this:

http://www.sidefx.com/docs/houdini11.0/dynamics/io [sidefx.com]
Michael Goldfarb | www.odforce.net
Training Lead
SideFX
www.sidefx.com
3 posts
Thank you for the reply. I have read this portion of the documentation, but unfortunately I am not having any luck with actually grabbing the Streamers as a geometry type. I would like to use the vectors which are visualized in the Streamer view to construct line segments. These would then be used to extrude a circle.
Does anyone know of a tutorial that might point me in the right direction? It is too bad that the Houdini documentation doesn't include any examples of how to utilize the various nodes.
Again, any assistance is greatly appreciated. Thank you!
2624 posts
There is a video tutorial that covers this , In the tutorials section of this site.

rob
Gone fishing
339 posts
Here ya go!

Attachments:
streamers.hip (1.2 MB)

Jesse Erickson
Fx Animator
WDAS
3 posts
Circus Monkey- Thank you for your reply regarding the video tutorial. I would love to know which one actually covers the workflow. I have viewed the tutorials in the dynamics section but did not come across the information in any of them . A link would be great.