Houdini After Effect integration

21232   20   3
80 posts
Hi folks, I am curious to know what If Houdini would become the most powerful integration for motion graphics too! C4d is releasing a top notch integration with After Effects and as far I know Houdini can do A LOT LOT LOT better things than those….
So my request is to integrate houdini with after effects…I know it's a huge wish…but it could be done and I am sure. :shock:
11 posts
Interesting idea but I've come from a C4D/AE background myself and I'm not sure I would like to use AE in conjunction with Houdini. A nodal workflow such as Nuke seems more beneficial and more in tune with how Houdini works itself. Granted I've very little experience of Houdini (6 months learning on the side) and none of Nuke so maybe I'm not the best person to comment on these two working together .

AE seems to create more problems than it solves for jobs I have been doing recently (Linear workflow, multi-pass exr's, slow performance on 4K…). Unless they can sort things out I can see myself trying to switch to something like Nuke in the future as most of my clients ask for 3D work rather than ‘motion graphics’.
4189 posts
Mark Lindner
. A nodal workflow such as Nuke seems more beneficial and more in tune with how Houdini works itself. .

Nuke and Houdini are match-made. You can think of Nuke as an expanded version of Houdini's Composite, COPs.
80 posts
Mark Lindner
Interesting idea but I've come from a C4D/AE background myself and I'm not sure I would like to use AE in conjunction with Houdini. A nodal workflow such as Nuke seems more beneficial and more in tune with how Houdini works itself. Granted I've very little experience of Houdini (6 months learning on the side) and none of Nuke so maybe I'm not the best person to comment on these two working together .