Can you work quickly in Houdini?

9455   12   3
73 posts
First of all, thank you Jordi for all your work on the guides & thanks to SideFX for creating this section on your forum.

Personally, I have still not decided where to go. Houdini 14 looks like a big step in the right direction, but I still have one major concern.

I need to be fast in whatever software I'm using. And, although I realize no matter what app I end up switching to it'll take a while to get up to speed, I'm hesitant to switch to Houdini because I have this gut feeling that Houdini isn't designed to be “fast” but instead it's designed to be flexible.

What I mean is, my feeling is that working in Houdini is like trying to do absolutely everything with ICE in Softimage. I feel like, you can't just quickly slap something together for a rush job because everything in Houdini requires a LOT of initial setup.

I hope I'm being clear enough. I suppose an analogy would be this.

If I was a woodworker and a client asked me to build a birdhouse, the Softimage version would be that I already have all the pieces of wood, pre-cut to the proper measurements to build the birdhouse. But, I also have a toolbox full of tools that will allow me to totally customize the birdhouse if necessary.

The Houdini version would be, I have an enormous toolbox, but in order to build the birdhouse, I have to first go out and cut down a tree, drag it to a sawmill, design, measure, and create all the pieces I need for the birdhouse, then I can start to build the birdhouse. And, some of the tools I need might not exist in the toolbox, but instead I have been given the components necessary to build the tools from scratch. The great news for the client is, this birdhouse is a procedural birdhouse, so even after it's “done” the client can still request changes.