Zooming in/out + panning on Camera backplate, SI style?

   2727   7   5
User Avatar
Member
111 posts
Joined: March 2014
Offline
Hi,

Does anyone know how to zoom in/out & pan on the camera roto backplate, like we can in SI?

I found some older references to this, but cannot seem to find this in H14.

cheers,

rob

p.s. The Auto-commit preference for keying is evil!!! ;-)
Apprentice Attribute / Houdini 16.0.557 / GTX 970 - driver 378.66
User Avatar
Member
111 posts
Joined: March 2014
Offline
Never mind, figured it out.

It seems the exported hip file with the tracking data has an ‘old style’ roto node, and that one doesn't work properly with the new camera controls, and is missing some other stuff as well.

Adding these in will work as expected.

Although it might be nice to have some kind of shortcut/button to reset the window scaling/offset in one go.

cheers!

rob
Apprentice Attribute / Houdini 16.0.557 / GTX 970 - driver 378.66
User Avatar
Member
162 posts
Joined: Nov. 2014
Offline
So how did you actually figure it out.?
Looking for same thing for h13 and for H14.

Zoom and pan on camera backplate.
User Avatar
Member
111 posts
Joined: March 2014
Offline
HI,

Not used H13, but the H14 camera ‘View’ tab has:

- Screen Window X/Y
- Screen Window Size

You can drag and drop these into the viewport to create virtual sliders.

Now you can easily zoom and pan around in your camera view with a background.
CTRL+MMB on the parameter label in the View tab will reset all to the default value.

To link the ‘Window Size’ values, drag one on top of the other and choose ‘channel reference’.

It would be nice to have this more like in SI, but this works for me too.

hope this helps,

rob
Apprentice Attribute / Houdini 16.0.557 / GTX 970 - driver 378.66
User Avatar
Member
80 posts
Joined: May 2006
Offline
+1 on this (sorry to resurrect an old thread).
We often jump back into Soft for any delicate hand tracking work and export back into Houdini.
User Avatar
Member
87 posts
Joined: Oct. 2015
Offline
+1 too for “standard” shortcuts on this camera screen windows parameters (is anyone already made a RFE for this) !
This would have been useful for my last project..
User Avatar
Member
38 posts
Joined: May 2015
Offline
+1 Would love to be able to do this without sliders, and just with mouse and hotkey like in Soft!
VFX Supervisor @ Helmet Films & Visual Effects
http://www.helmet.no [helmet.no]
User Avatar
Member
57 posts
Joined: Feb. 2008
Offline
+1 too
  • Quick Links