How can I add support for unzip'ing hip files when opened

4150   8   3
3 posts
Since hip files compress really well, I've been trying to come up with a hook that would allow you to open a zipped hip file, and have it automatically unzip it.

At first I thought the 123 or 456 scripts were the way to go, but being a total newbie, I was completely wrong about when they are invoked in the overall lifecycle.

So I was hoping someone could point me in the right direction.

I'm using houdini 8 on a redhat 4 system.
Thanks,
Jordan
7025 posts
You need to alias houdini to a small script. R+H does this, so if it detects a .gz suffix it will expand it automatically first.

Basically, the script would look for a .gz (or .zip if you prefer) suffix when you specify a .hip file on the command line, and if it detects it, it unzips it first, then runs houdini on the expanded one.

Slightly related, I've long been frustrated that SESI doesn't build GZ compression into the saving of .hip files, perhaps off by default. Touch 101 (based on Houdini) has this native, I believe. Usually a 90% file size savings.

Cheers,

Peter B
3 posts
Thanks for the quick reply. Unfortunately that particular solution doesn't handle the case when you open hip files ‘after’ a houdini session has been invoked. Are you aware of any clever hooks into that behaivour?
7025 posts
It's not possible if Houdini is already open. Well, OK, it is but it's a pain. You cannot use File->Open, you have to have a custom script that uses the “mread” Hscript command.

Another pet peeve All the pulldown menues should be links to scripts that you can customize!!

Cheers,

Peter B
4140 posts
Should be trivial to implement as a cmd script, something along the lines of

unix ‘gunzip foobar.hip.gz’
mread foobar.hip