Principled shader Viewport texture display?

12057   9   2
8 posts
Hi guys,

I'm really new to Houdini and am tying to understand as to why some materials (ie the bricks preset material)
are capable of displaying textures on objects in the viewport, while textures I attach to the principled shader
will not display them. I tried both referencing the texture via the built-in string texture parameters as well as connecting a texture node to the base color input, and both approaches work and render fine in any renderer, but I will never see the texture in the viewport. Am I missing any crucial steps (yes, I did read the documentation on texturing, as well as the principled shader, and watched half a dozen tutorials on shading, and yes, the object has UVs), or is this “by design”?

Any pointers in the right direction (or a link to a section of the docs I might have missed) are highly appreciated.

Cheers,

Stefan

PS: Oh, and sorry for the stupid user name, thats what you get when you log in via google.
Edited by stefan05e81cea6f0b4809 - Oct. 28, 2017 17:19:26
7794 posts
Use the texture path parameters on the texture tab of the principled shader. These parameters have already been tagged as parameters for viewport display.
8 posts
Thx jsmack, that actually works! It's just not what I want and need most of the time. For example, wrapping the principled shader (and, potentially, other nodes) in a shaderbuilder (I read that is “tidy” and a good habit) and assigning that to the object disables texture display again (it still renders fine in Mantra though).
And sometimes I just need to connect a texture node (and maybe some other nodes in between for e.g. color correction and/or blending with other textures), so I can't directly use the texture path parameter.