Need Help With Opening Houdini! URGENT!!

22560   26   6
5 posts
Hi there,

I just got a call today with a job offer using the Houdini software. I've never used it before, but I told the people I'd do a test for them anyway.

So I've downloaded the program, but I'm totally confused as to opening it. There's a whole list when I go to open the program, and I'm unsure of which one to use. As if that wasn't bad enough, it asks me about liscencing or something, and I tried to register as an apprentice, but that didn't seem to work.

I have used 3d programs before (XSI and maya) but it hasn't been for about 3 years… and this is just really confusing to me.

If I can get any help, it would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!!
Edited by - Feb. 10, 2007 16:09:44
4140 posts
You've used XSI and Maya and never had to deal with licensing before? Hmmm….

Anyway, yes there are several programs listed there - I'm unsure if the unlicensed install shows “Houdini Apprentice”(I doubt it), but otherwise just run “Houdini Master”.

As to why licensing the eval didn't work, you'll need to be more specific. Platform you're running on, precisely what went wrong, etc. You'll need to be connected to the internet for licensing to work.

J.C.
John Coldrick
2199 posts
Check out this thread it lists lots of tutorials

http://www.sidefx.com/index.php?option=com_forum&Itemid=172&page=viewtopic&t=6828&highlight=tutorials [sidefx.com]
The trick is finding just the right hammer for every screw
5 posts
JColdrick
You've used XSI and Maya and never had to deal with licensing before? Hmmm….

I used XSI while in College. The school had all the liscences and stuff for that done, so we never had to deal with it. I used Maya in an internship - again, didn't have to deal with liscenceing and such because it was the companies software.