newbie question about grid planes / moving points on normals

2183   11   1
73 posts
I started learning Houdini two days ago, and although I've done a lot of 3D modeling in Rhino, there's much about the Houdini world that is fascinating but also quite different for me. I think I've boiled my first confusions down to the following very simple example, and I'd greatly appreciate any insights anyone can offer.

One thing to note: in the viewport preferences, I have set the Z direction to be up, and perhaps that is part of my problem? I'm not sure.

I start with a grid node (primitive type polygon, connectivity quadrilaterals, orientation YZ plane). I've attached a screen shot of the grid parameters and the scene with visibility set to the next node – a pointvop.

Inside the pointvop I am attempting to move the points of the grid along their normals by varying amounts. I'm using a unifiednoise node whose position input I connect to the point location input of the vop. I then multiply the normal input of the vop with this noise and add it to the point locations. I attach a screen shot of that setup and also the parameter settings of the unified noise node.

At least two things confuse me about the results. First, when I look at the permutation of the grid, it seems that the points aren't just being lifted along their normal directions. They are also slanting off in the y/z direction.

Section, I tried to do this with the grid set to the XY plane, but when I do that, no permutations show up from the pointvop at all. It is just a flat grid in the XY plane. I'm confused about why what I've done wouldn't work with that grid orientation.

Thanks again for any help you can offer.

Mary

Attachments:
normals question1.png (3.0 MB)
normals question2.png (614.4 KB)
normals question3.png (258.6 KB)

683 posts
Hey mgbaker,