Quickly toggle Display flag between two nodes? (H19)

   1437   8   2
User Avatar
Member
279 posts
Joined: Aug. 2019
Offline
I read this:

1 and 2 to update display and render flags
I use this all the time, I think a hangover from using nuke too much. With the current node selected, hit 1 to set its display flag to here, 2 to set its render flag. This is often much faster than trying to hit that tiny blue rectangle.

Hitting 1 repeatedly cycles between the selected node and the last created node, handy for doing a quick comparisons (analogous to nuke and setting 1 to a node, 2 to another, and tapping 1 2 1 2 to compare them)

In H16 these 1 and 2 hotkeys have been replaced with R and E.

from https://www.tokeru.com/cgwiki/index.php?title=HoudiniUserInterfaceTips#customise_right_click_menus [www.tokeru.com]

But neither works for me. 1 and 2 are quickjump. R and E do toggle flags, but the way they work is completely different from what CGWiki describes. R activates a "flag toggle mode" and I have to click the node after.

What I'd like is the exact behaviour CGWiki describes:

With the current node selected, hit _ to set its display flag to here

and

Hitting _ repeatedly cycles between the selected node and the last created node, handy for doing a quick comparisons

is it possible in H19?
User Avatar
Member
5970 posts
Joined: Sept. 2011
Offline
I just use undo/redo for this. It's not ideal but it works.
User Avatar
Member
1420 posts
Joined: May 2006
Offline
Yeah the behavior of nodes and display flags changed substantially when the Houdini got a revamp of the node editor. I should go and take those sections out of the wiki, sorry 'bout that.
http://www.tokeru.com/cgwiki [www.tokeru.com]
https://www.patreon.com/mattestela [www.patreon.com]
ikoon
Member
113 posts
Joined: Jan. 2016
Offline
Maybe this might help?

https://lex.ikoon.cz/network-editor-remember-the-previously-flagged-node-and-unflag-to-it/ [lex.ikoon.cz]

It is poor man's script, but works for me.
User Avatar
Member
3289 posts
Joined: Feb. 2012
Offline
I want to implement something like this also. It's definitely very useful, like in Nuke, as well as the ability to pin multiple nodes in parameters pane on demand unlike Nuke where they are always visible.

There are a lot of UX like this that can really help Houdini.
Senior FX TD @ Industrial Light & Magic
Get to the NEXT level in Houdini & VEX with Pragmatic VEX! [www.pragmatic-vfx.com]

patreon.com/animatrix | vimeo.com/animatrix3d
User Avatar
Member
6597 posts
Joined: July 2007
Offline
raincole
R and E do toggle flags, but the way they work is completely different from what CGWiki describes. R activates a "flag toggle mode" and I have to click the node after.
I believe by default they should work on selected nodes, if not just make sure Preferences/NetworkEditor/FlagHotkeysWorkOnSelectedNodes is checked

also to toggle between 2 nodes, just select 2 nodes and hit R repeatedly, it will swap display flag between them
or T for render flag
flags that can be set on multiple nodes simultaneously like template E or bypass Q will toggle them on all selected nodes together
Tomas Slancik
FX Supervisor
Method Studios, NY
User Avatar
Member
279 posts
Joined: Aug. 2019
Offline
tamte
also to toggle between 2 nodes, just select 2 nodes and hit R repeatedly, it will swap display flag between them
or T for render flag
flags that can be set on multiple nodes simultaneously like template E or bypass Q will toggle them on all selected nodes together

Oh thank you very much. That's an extremely useful trick!
Edited by raincole - Nov. 19, 2021 10:45:19
User Avatar
Member
1420 posts
Joined: May 2006
Offline
Oh brilliant! Going straight to the wiki...
http://www.tokeru.com/cgwiki [www.tokeru.com]
https://www.patreon.com/mattestela [www.patreon.com]
User Avatar
Member
373 posts
Joined: July 2005
Offline
cool! ... but be sure your mouse pointer is in a network view and you don't accidentally hit R while you're mouse has viewport focus... heh, this tripped me for a second between two null nodes... I didn't see any handles or notice the viewer state flipped to rotation mode so I was seeing onion skinning instead
Edited by sdugaro - May 29, 2022 22:10:59
  • Quick Links