Variate Texture per Mesh primitive in LOP Material Library

6827   21   1
52 posts
Hi all
I am new to solaris. If anyone can give me a hand with this it would be awesome.
I have exported a large USD file from the software City Engine. It is a model of a city.

It is a large scene where each Mesh has attached its own USDPreviewSurface material to which are connected a set of PBR textures and the UV sets which must be used with each.
I have successfully imported this USD in Solaris as a reference using the reference node.

What I would like to do is to convert all of these USDPreviewSurface materials to 1 single Principled Shader, where each texture path is variated by Primitive Mesh.
In mantra i guess this would be a Material Override.
In Maya Arnold a similar thing can be done with the Tokens.

So, for instance if I have a
Road_GEO,
a Roof_GEO
and a Wall_GEO,

in each imported USDPreviewSurface diffuse Color attribute there would be

inputs:diffuseColor
inputs:file @textures/Mud_BaseColor.png@
inputs:file @textures/Tiles_BaseColor.png@
inputs:file @textures/Stone_BaseColor.png@

I would want to grab the path of each texture input file and store it into a variable and assign that variable to the path of the new texture.
Is such a thing possible?

I wanted to start by assigning a default Principled shader to all the meshes, but I get this error message:
Authoring to an instance proxy is not Allowed.

Many thanks
Edited by PaoloGiandoso - Jan. 19, 2022 20:19:34

Attachments:
Untitled.jpg (1.4 MB)

Staff
4441 posts
Indeed, you can't edit the contents of instanced USD primitives (or else they wouldn't be instanced any more).