Houdini File system

8694   7   2
18 posts
This it´s a easy question, but I'm a newbie and I don't find any tutorial about this topic. I would like to know how works the houdini's filesystem, what the point of the $HIP, $JOB and $TEMP folders. What the function of each folder? I just don't know the diference between them
519 posts
When you start houdini it will pick up any environment variable that yopu have set (in the current shell). Some of these variables are (very) specific to houdini.

For example:
$HIP is the path to the current file you are working on in houdini. You can use this in expressions and scripts to reference a path relative to the current file (e.g. when using textures $HIP/textures/mytexture)

$JOB is not specific to houdini but can be used if you have a big project and have many subdirectories for textures, shaders, geometry and cached simulations. You can use this variable the same way as the $HIP variable.

$TEMP is a system wide variable on windows and linux. Almost all applications will use this variable to store scratch files, dumps after a crash and whatever. On windows this variable links to C:\windows\temp and on linux most likely to /tmp.

I hope this gives you a few clues.

Hans
18 posts
When I setup a project in Maya it create whole folder and sub-folder (Scene, Image, texture, etc), in Houdini isn't there nothing like that? Have I that create the whole folder and sub-folder system every time I open a new project? is there any script that makes it happen automatically?
519 posts
Sorry, Houdini is definitely not a click-and-you-re-done application, the way you organize your directory structure depends on your project, on your companies workflow or whatever. You could make a template directory structure your self and then copy it when you start a new project, this will probably be easier than making a script.
1390 posts
alves_mauri
When I setup a project in Maya it create whole folder and sub-folder (Scene, Image, texture, etc)