Houdini Engine for Unreal - Version 2

   4659   34   12
User Avatar
Member
117 posts
Joined: Feb. 2018
Offline
Any ETA yet?
User Avatar
Member
1090 posts
Joined: Aug. 2008
Offline
I would like to be able to override which material is used on instances.
/M

Personal Houdini test videos, http://vimeo.com/magnusl3d/ [vimeo.com]
User Avatar
Member
401 posts
Joined: Feb. 2013
Offline
MagnusL3D
I would like to be able to override which material is used on instances.

I think that is an Unreal limitation (if you bake to HISMs or ISMs). You can make a special unreal material that makes use of the random instance node, so you get a random value per instance. Also you can make use of world positions to get diversity into your instances.
User Avatar
Member
1090 posts
Joined: Aug. 2008
Offline
DASD
I think that is an Unreal limitation (if you bake to HISMs or ISMs). You can make a special unreal material that makes use of the random instance node, so you get a random value per instance. Also you can make use of world positions to get diversity into your instances.

No clue where you got the random things from, never said that I want random. I want to set specific materials from the HDA because I spawn entire sets of modules that have different version of material depending on what I build I may want the concrete version or the metal version. And when I bake it down to actors as if these modules have been placed manually I can override the materials. I just want the same functionallity in the HDA so the preset system i've written for these HDA's can have what material should be used as a part of it.
/M

Personal Houdini test videos, http://vimeo.com/magnusl3d/ [vimeo.com]
User Avatar
Member
401 posts
Joined: Feb. 2013
Offline
MagnusL3D
And when I bake it down to actors as if these modules have been placed manually I can override the materials. I just want the same functionallity in the HDA so the preset system i've written for these HDA's can have what material should be used as a part of it.
Seems you don't want to bake to HISMs/ISMs (Instance static mesh component) and in that case, the function you are describing should be already available in the current version of Houdini Engine for Unreal. (Though I am not 100% certain about that.) If you were baking to HISMs/ISMs (for optimization purposes) you can only have one set of materials per HISM/ISM component. You can only change all placements in the component at once. I described work-arounds for that scenario.
User Avatar
Member
1090 posts
Joined: Aug. 2008
Offline
DASD
Seems you don't want to bake to HISMs/ISMs (Instance static mesh component) and in that case, the function you are describing should be already available in the current version of Houdini Engine for Unreal. (Though I am not 100% certain about that.) If you were baking to HISMs/ISMs (for optimization purposes) you can only have one set of materials per HISM/ISM component. You can only change all placements in the component at once. I described work-arounds for that scenario.

Well since you use the point attribute “unreal_instance” when defining them I tend to call them instances though in the end I do bake them down as actors having set “unreal_split_instance” detail attribute, I could have been more detailed about that.

As far as I know you can't do it, and saying you think it's available but are not sure doesn't add anything.

There is “unreal_material”, previously “unreal_face_material” but that does not work for this (last time I checked at least) since it is for generated mesh not “instances”. And “unreal_material_instance” is for creating material instances not overriding instances/actors baked down.
Edited by MagnusL3D - Oct. 23, 2019 13:54:07
/M

Personal Houdini test videos, http://vimeo.com/magnusl3d/ [vimeo.com]
User Avatar
Member
21 posts
Joined: Oct. 2018
Offline
Hey!
Since I stumble over this a lot (I briefly mentioned it before):

It would be great to be able to set exposed blueprint properties in V2.

As an example:
I have a switch and a door (both are points with an unreal_instance holding blueprints in UE4).
In my door blueprint I have an exposed parameter. The switch blueprint is assigned to this parameter so the door knows by which switch it's activated.

Going even further:
When Houdini instances blueprint xxx, I'll need a reference to the xxx actor instance and assign this to Houdini's instanced blueprint yyy's exposed parameter - connecting the two blueprints.

Don't know if this is even possible, but that'd solve a lot of problems when fully automating level generation in UE4.
User Avatar
Member
3 posts
Joined: July 2019
Offline
Hello,

The git of this project will be available to public (once release)?
User Avatar
Member
8 posts
Joined: July 2019
Offline
Hello,

Is there any news regarding version 2 of the plugin?

Thanks,
User Avatar
Staff
369 posts
Joined: Sept. 2016
Offline
Hey everyone,

Sorry for the lack of news, v2 has indeed been keeping me very busy for the last few months.

We're making good progress, the new architecture has been fully implemented and we're currently focusing on porting back all the v1 features to v2.

We ended up rewriting/optimizing a lot more of version 1's code as we originally intended, which will likely delay the public beta for version 2 by a few months. I'm currently aiming at having the public beta around march/april next year.

The source code for version 2 of the plugin will also be available on Github when the public beta is made available.
User Avatar
Member
235 posts
Joined: July 2013
Offline
Sub'ing for Beta notice.

No pressure, but, Free Megascans in Unreal Engine announced today, is gonna have ALOT more eyes looking at Unreal Engine and Houdini.

That's what brought me here…
Edited by Daryl Dunlap - Nov. 12, 2019 12:09:21
Houdini Indie
Redshift 3D
User Avatar
Member
1 posts
Joined: Nov. 2019
Offline
It's a goooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooood news to hear the V2 will coming soon,i'm very looking foward to ues the V2,there is one question which is important to me : Does Houdini generation can then be used at runtime in a shipping / packaged game?
User Avatar
Member
19 posts
Joined: June 2017
Offline
subbed.
User Avatar
Staff
369 posts
Joined: Sept. 2016
Offline
@maninmatrix Unfortunately no, V2 will not work at runtime in the game.

Runtime support for Houdini Engine is actually a separate topic from the new version of Unreal.
User Avatar
Member
8 posts
Joined: Sept. 2016
Offline
Hi! Highly looking forward for the v2 as well!

Here are some issues that bother me currently:
  1. If a HF layer has a value of 1 everywhere on the HF mask, it's not transfered to UE. It'd be best to transfer it because we need one for a base layer like dirt/ground.
  2. Allow an attribute to adjust the culling distance for instances coming from HF scatter or Copy to points.
  3. VAT Fluid have wrong normals when rotating the object in UE.

Thank you!
Edited by aiven - Dec. 2, 2019 10:55:00
  • Quick Links