AMD Radeon ProRender Solaris plugin

   504   14   2
User Avatar
Member
6 posts
Joined: June 2018
Offline
GPU rendering for free?



Available at
https://github.com/GPUOpen-LibrariesAndSDKs/RadeonProRenderUSD/releases [github.com]

Post any issues in the github issues page!
Edited by bsavery - Nov. 27, 2019 17:44:18
User Avatar
Member
51 posts
Joined: Sept. 2015
Offline
a little bit of documentation would be helpful. I was very keen to try it out, so installed, but can't find it in Houdini.
Should I edit env file? Should it appear automatically under “render delegates”? I can see only “Houdini GL”, “Karma (beta)”, “Storm”. Were you able to run it? if yes, can you please share the workflow? Thanks!
User Avatar
Member
6 posts
Joined: June 2018
Offline
Yes Install instructions are on the github page. It should show up in the viewport renderer options after installed. Was there any issue running the install script?

Also Other's have mentioned Apprentice versions don't let you run plugins, but I haven't tested this myself.
User Avatar
Member
51 posts
Joined: Sept. 2015
Offline
Install script went without errors. It looks like H18 has some weird indie license bug, and sets it to apprentice version. Probably this is the reason Pro Render doesn’t show up. Sadly have to wait for a few days.
User Avatar
Member
6 posts
Joined: June 2018
Offline
brokenkeyframe
Install script went without errors. It looks like H18 has some weird indie license bug, and sets it to apprentice version. Probably this is the reason Pro Render doesn’t show up. Sadly have to wait for a few days.
Ah ok. I assume SideFX is aware of this. Let me know the resolution.
User Avatar
Staff
3457 posts
Joined: July 2005
Offline
I was able to download, install, and use RPR without issue, inside of Apprentice as well as a full commercial version, running the release build. I had some issues with normals appearing wrong rendering the standard Pixar kitchen scene, but in general it worked well for me.

There is no explicit disallowing of third party renderers in the viewport with Apprentice. The issue referred to I thought was that rendering with Karma from within an Indie Houdini would downgrade that Houdini session to Apprentice (and indeed that bug is being worked on, but as I understand it, it should not affect any other third party renderers).

All that to say there might be something else going wrong in your setup?
User Avatar
Member
51 posts
Joined: Sept. 2015
Offline
Okay. so I installed the RPR:



Do I need to write paths to env file? Should it work as soon as I run houdini?
beause I coudn't find any other instructions, to make it work.
User Avatar
Member
6 posts
Joined: June 2018
Offline
Nope. Should run without any other issues. So it doesn't show up in the delegates at all?

My only other thought is that it's not installing to the right location. We recently updated the release for macOS. Please try downloading the updated one from https://github.com/GPUOpen-LibrariesAndSDKs/RadeonProRenderUSD/releases [github.com]

It should say this when installing:

– Installing: /Applications/Houdini/Houdini18.0.287/Frameworks/Houdini.framework/Versions/Current/Resources/houdini/soho/parameters/HdRprPlugin_Viewport.ds
– Installing: /Applications/Houdini/Houdini18.0.287/Frameworks/Houdini.framework/Versions/Current/Libraries/libTahoe64.dylib
– Installing: /Applications/Houdini/Houdini18.0.287/Frameworks/Houdini.framework/Versions/Current/Libraries/libRadeonImageFilters64.dylib


If not can you file an issue on the github page?
User Avatar
Member
51 posts
Joined: Sept. 2015
Offline
Thank you bsavery! New version worked like charm!
User Avatar
Member
101 posts
Joined: July 2015
Offline
Could you guys please provide a way to install via the Houdini package system? https://www.sidefx.com/docs/houdini/ref/plugins.html [www.sidefx.com]

Example: https://github.com/sideeffects/SideFXLabs/blob/Development/SideFXLabs.json [github.com]

Thanks!
Manuel Köster - FX @ Animal Logic

shadesoforange.de
User Avatar
Member
2858 posts
Joined: Sept. 2011
Offline
I'm not sure usd plugins can be installed that way. They are dlls that live outside the HFS.
User Avatar
Member
101 posts
Joined: July 2015
Offline
Ah I see. I didn't take a look into what it needs to install. That's a shame then.
Manuel Köster - FX @ Animal Logic

shadesoforange.de
User Avatar
Member
6 posts
Joined: June 2018
Offline
jsmack
I'm not sure usd plugins can be installed that way. They are dlls that live outside the HFS.
Maybe Mark can answer that one?

Overall if there's a better way we to do the installer for these USD plugins easily we're all ears.
User Avatar
Member
17 posts
Joined: Feb. 2018
Offline
Some documentation or tutorials would be nice, I've installed it and it works in the viewport and I can render using the usdrender node but there is no equivalent to the karma node. How do we adjust pixel samples, de-noising etc?
3D Freelancer
https://www.artstation.com/ffd [www.artstation.com]
User Avatar
Member
13 posts
Joined: Aug. 2019
Offline
FFD
equivalent to the karma node
Do you mean “Karma Render Properties”? If so then I can say that it's in my TODO list and I hope that I will do some sketch or even full implementation of it this month. But for now, you can use “Display Options”.

Attachments:
displayOptions.PNG (4.5 KB)

  • Quick Links