Karma XPU (H20) vs Redshift

11093   36   12
205 posts
I am using redshift for quite a while now and I like it. It's fast, the houdini integration is really good and feature wise, it suits my needs.

I am a freelancer with a single workstation and three nvidia gpus. Mostly no USD/solaris. No heavy stuff for the most part.

I would like to hear what you guys think about switching to karma XPU. What are the (dis)advantages in terms of speed, tweaking and ease of use?

As I am no render expert at all, I always liked redshift's autosampling feature. Afaik, this is not yet implemented in Karma, right?

What else should I be aware of?

Cheers
23 posts
I've been making the transition from Redshift to try and use KarmaXPU more in my workflow as well.
Had a few stumbles here and there. But now that I've been working in USD / mtlX / solaris a bit, it's making more and more sense.
A little more work in the setup, but I'm starting to get results similar to RS. The time to fist pixel is way faster in XPU especially in bigger scenes.

I'm not happy about the Adobefication of Maxon, and having a solid option directly developed by SideFX with more open standards is a great thing for me and my workflow.
25 posts
Also been using Redshift for a while, what got me into Karma Xpu was the smoke, cloud, volumetric
Redshift is really lacking there. I then found a combination of ODTools and Karma XPU to be super fast
Drag and drop everything. Upgrading to H20 XPU got all the AOVs, just made a render with a lot of object lights, It looks great
But ODTools are not working, I must admit it is really slow for now setting up fast scenes
But I hope that ODTools update is coming very soon
6 posts
Toketronic
Also been using Redshift for a while, what got me into Karma Xpu was the smoke, cloud, volumetric
Redshift is really lacking there. I then found a combination of ODTools and Karma XPU to be super fast