I had to share this stupid achievement

9881   28   4
73 posts
Hi,

I am new to Houdini and a hobbyist. When I learn a new package, I always practice building the same object below. It's called an “Advanced Inertial Reference Sphere”. The corner piece of the sphere is a challenging (at least for me) object to build in a way that is ‘perfect’ and clean in SubD.

Consider it my acid test to verify that I am comfortable with the basics of the modelling portion of an application.

I have dreamed of being able to use Houdini for almost 15 years. I always thought it was only for rocket scientists and that you needed a PhD to achieve the simplest results.

I am sure that the current iteration of the application is far more accessible than it used to be in the past. However, I am amazed at the result of spending about 10 hours with tutorials. I have NEVER been able to achieve such a clean and continuous surface with any application that I used in the past whilst retaining full control over the cage.

I always seem to either end-up with either a soup of control loops, having to retopologise after a Nurb'ish/Boolean'ish sledgehammer approach, or end up with a good cage that wasn't 100% perfect (I am a bit OCD).

Houdini is the first application in which I ever managed to achieve this level of perfection without having to push vertices along guides manually.

Thank you SideFX! You just improved my standard of living by 250%
Edited by redaborchardt - Sept. 17, 2016 08:14:26

Attachments:
1.png (1.2 MB)
2.png (1.4 MB)
3.png (1.5 MB)

7722 posts
Where's the pic of your actual model?
766 posts
Yeah lets see some wireframes; I could be wrong but the image looks as if I've seen it before.
【T】【C】【S】
333 posts
Christopher R
Yeah lets see some wireframes; I could be wrong but the image looks as if I've seen it before.
You most likely have: http://nuclearweaponarchive.org/Usa/Weapons/Airs.html [nuclearweaponarchive.org]